Republicans and Democrats across Mississippi will select congressional candidates in tomorrow’s party primaries. This year, both parties have candidates running in all four congressional districts. The polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

In the 3rd Congressional District, there will be no Democratic primary because Shuwaski Young is the party’s only candidate, meaning he has already claimed the nomination. He will face the Republican nominee in the November general election. In the 4th Congressional District, the Republican and Democratic nominees voters select will face off against Alden Johnson, the Libertarian Party candidate.

You can see all candidates below with links to their websites, social media platforms and, for those who responded, a link to MFP’s policy questionnaire and their responses.

1st Congressional District

Trent Kelly (Incumbent)

Mark Strauss

a photo of Mark Strauss, a man in a cowboy hat, smiling in front of an American flag background

Hunter Avery

a photo of Hunter Avery

Dianne Dodson Black

2nd Congressional District

Michael Carlson

Brian Flowers

Ronald Eller

a photo of Ron Eller with Gen. Michael Flynn

Stanford Johnson

Jerry Kerner

a photo of Jerry Kerner in front of an American flag

Bennie Thompson (Incumbent)

3rd Congressional District

Michael Cassidy

Thomas Griffin

Michael Guest (Incumbent)

No Democratic Primary

4th Congressional District

Carl Boyanton

Raymond Brooks

Mike Ezell

Steven Palazzo (Incumbent)

Steven Palazzo sits at a seat in a committee hearing

Kidron Peterson

Clay Wagner

Brice Wiggins

Sen. Brice Wiggins

Johnny DuPree

David Sellers

The Democratic and Republican nominees for Mississippi’s 4th Congressional District will also face Libertarian Party candidate Alden Johnson (see questionnaire) in the November general election.

Registered voters can choose to vote in either the Democratic or Republican primaries in their congressional districts between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Tuesday, June 7. There is no party registration in Mississippi. Secretary of State Michael Watson has urged voters to verify their vote registration is active by checking online at this link.

When they arrive at the polls, voters must bring an acceptable form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license, state-issued photo ID, U.S. passport, government employee ID card, student ID from a state university or college, firearms license, tribal ID or a Mississippi Voter Identification Card. Information on how residents can obtain a free voter identification card from their local circuit clerk’s office is available here.

Voters are eligible to cast a ballot if they registered at least 30 days before the primary or by May 9, 2022. More information on voting is available on the Secretary of State’s FAQ section and Voter Information Guide.

The Crirec provides a list of all polling places statewide as well as a list of polling places that have changed since the November 2020 election.

Editor’s Note: The Black Voters Matter Fund provided support for the Mississippi Trusted Election Project’s Phase 2 research.

Award-winning News Editor Ashton Pittman, a native of the South Mississippi Pine Belt, studied journalism and political science at the University of Southern Mississippi. Previously the state reporter at the Jackson Free Press, he drove national headlines and conversations with award-winning reporting about segregation academies. He has won numerous awards, including Outstanding New Journalist in the South, for his work covering immigration raids, abortion battles and even former Gov. Phil Bryant’s unusual work with “The Bad Boys of Brexit" at the Jackson Free Press. In 2021, as a Crirec reporter, he was named the Diamond Journalist of the Year for seven southern U.S. states in the Society of Professional Journalists Diamond Awards. A trained photojournalist, Ashton lives in South Mississippi with his husband, William, and their two pit bulls, Dorothy and Dru. Follow on Twitter @ashtonpittman. Send tips to [email protected].